Overview of the Inbox Settings Feature
Our Inbox setting allows you to have more customization on how a particular inbox behaves. Inbox settings are applicable on a per-inbox basis.
To access the settings
You must have the following system roles:
- Owner
- Admin
For custom roles, please ensure that the 'Inboxes Manage' permission is enabled for the custom role.
Set Up Auto Reply
Will re-direct you to the Automation tab. For more information about Automations, please see the help article.
Auto Assign
This setting is for handling incoming chats. When enabled, you will get 2 options:
- Assign chat to first team member who responds
- Assign chat to any team member who responds
If you would like to turn it off, click on the toggle and select 'Disable'. Chat assignments determine which user receives notifications based on the 'Send notifications to everyone regardless of assignments' setting below.
Send notifications to everyone regardless of assignments
This setting controls notification behavior for all incoming and reply messages:
- OFF: New messages notify eligible inbox members when a chat is unassigned, and the assignee when it’s assigned.
- ON: New messages notify eligible inbox members regardless of assignment.
Use cases:
- Turn ON if you want unassigned conversations to alert the entire team for pickup
- Turn OFF if you only want the assigned owner to receive notifications to reduce noise
Call forwarding
When someone attempts to call your Heymarket number, it will be redirected to the phone number provided in this setting. For more information, refer to the help article.
Show new chats when outgoing messages are sent from lists, campaigns and integration automations
All newly created conversations from the methods mentioned above will appear in your regular inbox conversations. When turned off, conversations will only appear when someone responds.
Incoming call notifications
If someone attempts to call your Heymarket number, a new conversation will be created with the message "Phone call from [Phone Number]".
Close chat after period of inactivity
This feature is designed to help streamline your communication process by automatically closing inactive chats. This ensures your inbox remains tidy and focused. For more information, refer to this help article.
Auto unassign when a chat is closed
Heymarket will remove the assigned team member once the chat is closed. For more information, refer to this help article.
Auto unassign chat due to inactivity
Heymarket will remove the assigned team member after the conversation is inactive for a customizable period of time. For more information, refer to this help article.
Show chat waiting indicator
Heymarket allows you to view how long a contact has been waiting for a response with our Chat Waiting Indicator setting. For more information, refer to this help article.
Business Hours
Setting business hours improves reporting accuracy by accounting for non-working hours that would otherwise impact key reporting metrics like First Response Time, Average Response Time, and Resolution Time. For more information, refer to this help article.